SITC 2018 Awards

SITC 2018 Award Ceremony

Saturday, Nov. 11, 2018

The SITC 2018 Award Ceremony featured recipients of the 2018 Young Investigator Awards, 2018 Presidential Award, JITC Best Paper Award and SITC 2018 Fellowships.

The 2018 awards of the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC) recognize the lifetime achievements of a key leader while also supporting the advancement of early career scientists and up-and-coming researchers in the cancer immunotherapy field.

In celebration of the society’s 33rd year of advancing cancer immunotherapy worldwide, SITC presented 33 travel awards in 2018 to young investigators recognizing excellence in novel research, providing young investigators with the experience necessary for successful careers and acknowledging the need for the next generation of cancer immunologists to engage with luminaries in the field. All awards are supported by the Forward Fund.


Richard V. Smalley, MD, Memorial Award

In memory of past society president and charter member, Dr. Richard V. Smalley, SITC is proud to present the Richard V. Smalley, MD, Memorial Award each year to a recognizable clinician or scientist and luminary in the field that has significantly contributed to the advancement of cancer immunotherapy research.

Established in 2005, the society’s most prestigious award serves to honor those that have been pioneers in their work and made a notable impact worthy of high regard and recognition by their peers.

The 2018 recipient of the SITC Smalley Memorial Award and Lectureship: Philip D. Greenberg, MD, of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Young Investigator Awards*

Since its inception, SITC has strongly supported the growth and achievement of young investigators in the field of cancer immunotherapy. As the field continues to expand, SITC has realized the even greater importance of fostering the growth and development of the next generation of cancer immunotherapy experts and tumor immunologists by providing them with additional support and opportunities to present their research at the SITC Annual Meeting.

Beginning in 1991, SITC established the Presidential Award to recognize the young investigator deemed to have the most outstanding oral abstract presentation at the SITC Annual Meeting. From there, SITC expanded its award opportunities and created an additional six Abstract Travel Awards in 2008.

Now in 2018, SITC offered 33 Young Investigator Awards, all recognizing excellence in novel research and providing young investigators with the experience necessary for successful careers. Learn more.

*All Young Investigator Awards require SITC membership to qualify. Renew your dues or become a SITC member today.

Abstract Travel Awards

Twenty-nine Abstract Travel Awards were presented to young investigators who submitted an abstract to the 33rd Annual Meeting. Abstracts were judged by a committee of SITC leadership and Annual Meeting organizers.

Those selected had the opportunity to present a poster of their abstract at the 33rd Annual Meeting and were eligible for oral presentations during Annual Meeting sessions. Award recipients also received:

  • Up to $750 in travel reimbursement
  • SITC Abstract Travel Award certificate and poster ribbon

2409.jpgPresidential Travel Awards

Four abstracts, submitted in any category and authored by young investigators, were selected for 15-minute oral presentations during the Presidential Session of the 33rd Annual Meeting. Presenting authors not selected for the SITC Presidential Award (described below) received a SITC Presidential Travel Award in recognition of their achievement. Recipients also received:

  • Up to $750 in travel reimbursement
  • One-year complimentary SITC membership
  • Presidential Travel Award certificate and poster ribbon

Presidential Award

Established in 1991, the SITC Presidential Award serves as recognition to the young investigator deemed to have the most outstanding oral abstract presentation at the SITC Annual Meeting.

The recipient of the Presidential Award received:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Up to $1,000 in travel reimbursement
  • One-year complimentary SITC membership
  • Commemorative Presidential Award plaque
  • Poster ribbon noting them as the Presidential Award Winner

All award recipients were recognized in the 33rd Annual Meeting Award Ceremony, on signage and name-badge ribbons at the conference, and will also be featured on the SITC website, in society press releases, social media and other promotional outlets.

Award Eligibility

To qualify for a Young Investigator Travel Award, the primary/presenting author must meet the criteria as outlined below prior to the submission deadline:

Both Abstract Travel and Presidential Travel Awards:

  • Be a current SITC member
  • Categorized as a Student, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Clinical Fellow, or Junior Faculty (instructor/assistant professor) with three or fewer years on staff (total from all institutions; inclusive of experience in all fields). A letter of support from a lab supervisor is needed stating this categorization as well.
  • Serve as both the primary author and presenting author on the abstract
  • Meet the determined deadline for abstract submission and indicate that they wish to be considered for an award
  • Include a letter of recommendation from a lab supervisor stating their categorization
  • Outline their contribution level to the four areas listed below. A greater level of participation will be judged more favorably and will be used as one of the criteria for judging award recipients. Categories include:
    • Conception and design
    • Collection and assembly of data
    • Data analysis and interpretation
    • Abstract writing

Presidential Travel Award Only:

  • Authors selected for oral presentations must be capable and comfortable presenting the abstract to a large audience and answering audience questions
  • Individuals who have previously won the SITC Presidential Award are ineligible for the same award

Questions? Please contact SITC staff at