Steven A. Rosenberg Scholars Award

The SITC Steven A. Rosenberg Scholars Award was established in honor of Dr. Rosenberg. This award recognizes his many contributions to the field by supporting investigators, who are emerging leaders in immuno-oncology, focused on a novel approach to advancing the field of immunology and cancer immunotherapy.

After completing surgical residency training in 1974, Dr. Rosenberg became the Chief of Surgery at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)—a position he still holds today. As Chief of Surgery, he oversees an extensive clinical program to translate scientific advances into effective immunotherapies for patients with cancer.

“Through his lab at the NCI, Dr. Rosenberg has engaged with hundreds of scientists, both young and old,” said SITC President Patrick Hwu, MD, who worked with Dr. Rosenberg at the NIH. “He has focused on creating a whole new way to approach cancer through immune cells. His work is inspiring a whole new generation of physician scientists to put the patient first, tackle the tough problems and never give up.”

Dr. Rosenberg has saved thousands of lives. His work pioneered the first effective immunotherapies and gene therapies for patients with advanced cancers and his studies of cell transfer immunotherapy have resulted in durable complete remission in patients with metastatic melanoma. He has also trained hundreds of cancer researchers, many of whom are leaders in the field of immunotherapy.

2023 Nominations Due July 15

SITC is seeking the best and brightest to continue Dr. Rosenberg’s legacy with a research award specifically for early career scientists focused on tackling challenges that face the field of immunology and cancer immunotherapy. This award provides $150,000 in funding to advance the recipient's research. 

Nominate an emerging leader today

To be eligible for this award, nominees must:

  • Currently hold a position at a leading academic cancer center as a post-doctoral fellow, resident, or research scientist, OR
  • Be within five years of their first full-time academic appointment or equivalent position as of final award nomination date
  • Applicants should be focused on translational work or on a clear path to translational research and must hold an MD, a PhD, or an MD/PhD
  • Preference given to applicants who have not yet received their first R01

2022 Award Recipient

Emily Keung, MD - The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Research Focus: 
Identification of Novel Therapeutics Targets in Soft Tissue Sarcoma (STS) through Tumor-Specific B-cell Receptors (BCRs)


Past Recipients

2021 Award Recipient

Evan Weber, PhD - Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute

Research Focus: 
CAR T Therapies in Pediatrics


2020 Award Recipient

Eric Tran, PhD - Earle A. Chiles Research Institute, a division of Providence Cancer Institute

Project Title: 
“Enhancing cellular therapy against cancer neoantigens”