Early Career Scientist

Early Career Scientist Committee

The committee was established to outline to SITC leadership the current needs of early career scientists in the field of career immunotherapy and tumor immunology to provide recommendations on how the Society can meet those needs.  Members of the Committee will also serve as advisors on ways SITC can increase opportunities for early career scientists to participate in and advance SITC’s mission and programming.  An end goal of both the Committee and SITC leadership is to use this information and interaction to establish a framework where the Society can enhance the early career development of outstanding young professionals in the field.


Julie Diamond
New York University School of Medicine

Vice Chair

Stefani Spranger, PhD
University of Chicago


Nicolas Acquavella, MD
National Cancer Institute

Helen K. Angell, PhD

Davide Bedognetti, MD
Sidra Medical and Research Center

Emily Curran, MD
University of Chicago

Sarah E. Church, PhD
Cordelier Research Center

Julie Decock, PhD
Qatar Biomedical Research Institute

Jiusheng Deng, PhD
Emory University - Winship Cancer Institute

Lorenzo Falchi, MD
Columbia University Medical Center

Yared Hailemichael, PhD
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Tyler Hulett
Earle A. Chiles Research Institute, Providence Cancer Center

Eugene Hwang, MD
Children's National Health System

Gary Kohanbash, PhD
University of California, San Francisco

Sema Kurtulus, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Devin Lowe, MD
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Zachary Morris, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Kyle K. Payne
The Wistar Institute

Shari Pilon-Thomas, PhD
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

Karsten Pilones, MD, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Sruthi Ravindranathan
University of Arkansas

Marco Ruella, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Anil Shanker, PhD
Meharry Medical College SOM/Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Nathan Singh, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Sara Valpione, MD
Veneto Region Oncology Research Institute, University of Padova

Claire Vanpouille-Box, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Heather VanSeggelen, PhD
McMaster University